Home > About the ABF > James O’Sullivan Foundation

James O’Sullivan Foundation

The James O’Sullivan Foundation was established in 1984 to commemorate the late President of the ABF, James de Courcy O’Sullivan who served in that office with great distinction from 1971 until his death in 1982.

The objectives of the Foundation are:

  • Commemorate James O’Sullivan.
  • Offer an opportunity to commemorate the names of people closely associated with bridge.
  • To promote the intellectual sport of contract bridge and to assist bridge players and bridge organizations in bridge-related activities.


The ABF transferred $20,000 to the original Trustees to establish the Foundation. Half of this allocation was a general grant, $5,000 as a nominated grant to commemorate the late Frank Cayley and $5,000 to commemorate the late Hans Rosendorff.

In 1993 the estate of the late Barry Turner provided $23,058 to the Foundation. In 2006 a grant of $10,000 was made by the ABF to commemorate the late Keith McNeil and a further grant of $10,000 in 2007 in the name of Tim Seres. In 2012 a grant of $10,000 was made by the ABF to commemorate the late Jessel Rothfield.

The deed specified five Trustees:

1. The President of the ABF
2. The Secretary of the ABF
3. The Treasurer of the ABF
4. The President of the QBA
5. One Ordinary Trustee Further the deed specifies the “Powers and Discretions of Trustees”.

The Trustees may grant or lend monies with or without security and with or without interest for such period and on such terms as the Trustees think fit.

Applications to be lodged in the first instance with the Secretariat of the ABF, attention the Chairman of the JOS Trust.
Email: secretariat@abf.com.au

JOS Trust Fund Meetings Minutes